Coco Gauff Wins The US Open Despite Claims That Her Opponent Was Too Sluggish Between Points
Coco Gauff wins the US Open despite claims that her opponent was too sluggish between points. On the first day of the U.S. Open, Coco Gauff found herself down by one set. Subsequently, she became engaged in an extensive and time-consuming game that spanned over 30 points and lasted for more than 25 minutes at the commencement of the second set.
Indeed, although there remained a substantial duration for the occurrence of a potential comeback on Monday evening within the confines of Arthur Ashe Stadium, the prevailing sentiment was that this particular juncture had significant importance.
The individual, aged 19 and hailing from Florida, had experienced defeat in her previous two Grand Slam matches, one of which resulted in a first-round elimination at Wimbledon last month. Determined not to depart unremarkably or hastily, she sought to make a lasting impression this time.
Amidst an escalating fervor exhibited by several partisan spectators, the sixth-seeded Gauff ultimately capitalized on her ninth break point opportunity during that particular set. Consequently, she emerged victorious against German qualifier Laura Siegemund with a final score of 3-6, 6-2, 6-4, so securing her advancement to the second round at Flushing Meadows.
Upon gaining the advantage, Gauff had considerable dissatisfaction due to Siegemund's deliberate prolongation of time between points. Siegemund consistently exhibited a deliberate pace of play, prompting chair umpire Marijana Veljovic to issue a warning during the first stages of the final set.
COPYRIGHT_LD: Published on https://ligadeportiva.com/coco-gauff-wins-the-us-open-despite-claims-that-her-opponent-was-too-sluggish/ by - on 2023-08-30T02:42:19.495Z
Brad Gilbert, one of the two coaches now collaborating with Gauff, expressed disapproval at the duration it took for Veljovic to intercede, eliciting a smirk from Gauff in response. However, after leading with a score of 3-0 in that particular set, Gauff decided to assert herself and present her argument.
Gauff told Veljovic:
She’s never ready when I’m serving. ... How is this fair? I’m going a normal speed. Ask any ref here. ... I’ve been quiet the whole match. ... Now it’s ridiculous. I don’t care what she’s doing on her serve, but (on) my serve, she has to be ready.- Coco Gauff
Gauff subsequently lost that particular game, but did not lose any subsequent games. Subsequently, Siegemund incurred a penalty point due to her actions causing a delay, resulting in Gauff gaining a 5-1 advantage. This led Siegemund to present her argument to Veljovic, questioning whether she was no longer allowed to use the towel.
This elicited some negative reactions from the spectators. Gauff encountered a further setback towards the conclusion of the match, when she assumed the responsibility of serving for victory at a score of 5-2 in the third set, although regrettably committed three double faults. The aforementioned double-faults constituted the sole instances of such errors during the duration of the 2-hour and 51-minute encounter.
Ultimately, she persevered, resulting in Gauff's twelfth triumph out of thirteen matches following her unsatisfactory performance at the All England Club. The current streak of victories included the two most significant championships achieved by the American athlete, as well as a notable triumph over the top-ranked player, Iga Swiatek. There is a possibility that Gauff and Swiatek may see each other in the quarterfinal stage of the upcoming week.